Museum Box: Present Your Project in Style

Is it hard to grasp your student’s attention through a basic PowerPoint? Do they end up drifting off during the repetitive, mundane slides?  With technology like Museum Box, you can make presentations in your classroom much more exciting, and it’s easy for students to use as well! Museum Box is a great tool that can be used to organize information for a project, present a project, or just share it among peers. It is a creative and engaging tool that will surely help you in the classroom.

Museum Box is a great way to spice up history projects and book reports.  I first read about Museum Box from a blog post by nhfledtech titled Museum Box: A New Presentation Tool as well as another Museum Box post by Carlo Daniels. These blogs help explain the advantages of the user friendly tool and how it came to be. I think using Museum Box is a great lesson for students because, according to Carlo Daniels’s blog, it is based off a historical figure, Thomas Clarkson, who was an anti-slavery campaigner. He collected artifacts, ranging from crafts to diagrams, that illustrated his arguments. Using Museum Box in the classroom can be a history lesson in itself.

Getting started with Museum Box is really simple! For teachers that need help getting started, there are some Teacher Resources on the Museum Box website. Once you are on Museum Box, you will then click “Start” on the right side of the page to begin. Your project will open and you will see this on your screen Beginning Museum Box

To begin, you can title your project and give it a description. Then, to start adding information, one can click on any of the eight boxes. This will bring you to the page where you can build your cubes. Each cube has 6 sides, and you can add information or media to each of them! You can put pictures, videos, music, links, or texts on each of the sides. All you have to do is save the files on your computer and upload them into the Museum Box! This tool is something that can keep the students engaged with its cool graphics and fun features! Also, once a student can do online research on their own, they will be able to use Museum Box easily.

After you start filling out a few of your cubes, your project could look something like thisMuseum Box With Filled Cubes

The students can work both individually or in groups with their boxes! Each student can take a square, or they could do a whole box on their own. It may be overwhelming to start them off with 8 cubes, so you can change the size of your Museum Box. Simply click on the “Change Box” item in the bottom right of the screen. This is the page that should be presented to youEditing Your BoxHere, you can choose the number of layers you want in your box, the number of cubes, the colors, and the textures. You can customize each part of the box! This will make the projects more personalized for each of the students because they can design it just how they want it.

To finally save your project, you must create an account on the Museum Box website. This option will be prompted to you when you click the save button on the top. It is free and simple! Just make a login name and password, and select the school you are with. Most schools are listed in the box on the right, but if it is not, you can register your school, or just use the “other” option.

When a student has finished their Museum Box, they can submit it to their teacher or peers for review. They can also present it to the class. They just open their Museum Box, click on each of the cubes, and present the information on each side. It is that simple! Here is a video on the Museum Box “about” page that goes through the making of a sample Museum Box.

Museum Box has a great sharing feature that allows you to see boxes created by users from all different schools. By going to the Museum Box Gallery on the website, you can view other students work, and maybe get ideas for your own!

Museum Box is a user friendly, creative, and a different way for students to make projects for class. It helps them find evidence that supports their work, and put a lot of detail into the information they are presenting.

For more information on Museum Box, I suggest you look at the following list of blog posts!

 

This entry was posted in Collaboration, Communication, Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Museum Box: Present Your Project in Style

  1. Kate H. says:

    Hannah, this is a really awesome tool that will definitely come in handy in the teaching world! It is a very interesting way of presenting information that is different than anything I have come across in my years as a student. Using the different cubes allows you to add different videos or pictures in order to enhance presentations. It would also create a great group project tool, allowing students to work together to create the boxes, splitting up cubes or boxes. I also really like how kid-friendly this website is. It is very convenient that you can adjust the number of cubes and layering of boxes in order to best appeal to your students. Both teachers and students will find this tool helpful. It provides a fun way of presenting information to keep everyone involved and excited.

  2. Elizabeth L. says:

    Hannah, I totally agree with Kate! My favorite part about the tool is its ability to adapt projects to work better in a group setting by splitting up the boxes. That way students can be held accountable for their work and the teacher can really see exactly what each student contributed to the project. When I watched the introductory video on the website, I think a really cool feature is how you can add pictures from your own personal photos as well as from the internet. Do you think you could use this box as a way to get to know students at the beginning of the year, similar to how we created our own digital story for this class? It would be cool to see what students can come up with!

    • B. Taylor says:

      Love the idea about having students share with one another info about themselves. Only concern I’d have is privacy – haven’t explored Museum Box enough to know if there is a way for a teacher to make the box viewable only by students in the class.

  3. Katie R. says:

    Hannah–Great post. I enjoy how the virtual box can be split up in different categories for students to work on. It is a good way to encourage equal participation in group project and a great tool to get kids interested! I enjoy the different variety of colors and other defining characteristics that can be added into the boxes. It allows for a different kind of organization and will be helpful when teaching!

  4. Sydney B. says:

    Hannah, this is very interesting! Like Katie, I like how there can be different categories for students to work on. Also, something that I thought was really interesting was how when you save your work, you can select your school but also share with other schools. That way, you can have different museum boxes that may give you another perspective. I also like how students can do this and incorporate so many different sources in the box! From Word documents to pictures, the variety is great! Good Job, Hannah!

  5. Holly G. says:

    As a future history teacher, I really like the idea of this tool. I agree – while Powerpoints were fancy when we were in high school, times are changing and those are beginning to be seen as boring and old as I used to find overhead projections. I think this is a good tool because it takes the important aspects of Powerpoint and posters and puts it into a more interactive and interesting tool. I also like how you suggested incorporating the introduction to this tool as a history lesson in itself. I also like this tool because I was one of the students that struggled to make creative and “pretty” projects in primary and secondary school. I have never considered myself artistic, so I struggled when projects required me to utilize my non-existent art skills. I like this tool because a student doesn’t have to be artistic or able to create something visually appealing by hand – they can do it with the help of a computer. I feel like it will encourage more students to do well on projects and take their work to the next level because, for one, they have the technology to enable them to do so, and two, they might actually enjoy making their project with this technology and spend more time on it than they would have otherwise. Great tool suggestion! I definitely plan on using this in my classroom.

  6. Christiana C. says:

    Hannah, I love what you wrote about Museum Box. Finding cool and exciting new ways to present information through technology has always been something I’m interested in since I know how boring plain PowerPoint slides can be. Museum Box kind of reminds me of Glogster in that you can put just about anything into a presentation format that is appealing to the eyes and even ears! I also really like that students can be able to submit their boxes to teachers or peers for review. I feel like this tool has so much potential in the classroom for both presentations and class activities. I can’t wait to find my own ways of using Museum Box!

  7. Meagan W. says:

    This is an awesome find Hannah! I didn’t have a chance to explore it in class the other day so I was glad I was able to read your blog post! I like that you can put whatever you want into the squares– text, pictures, videos, ect. I like that you can customize the boxes as well. It would be great for group projects, each student could present their topic with a box! I fell like this is something different so it will hopefully keep students engaged and interested in the subject. Did you try making your own museum box? I wonder how the actual ease of use is. I look forward to using this tool in the future! Great job!

  8. Emily D says:

    Hannah,
    I love this idea! This is such a visually appealing presentation, and I can imagine it working across grade levels and concentration areas. I also appreciated how you laid out specific instructions on how to work this cool resource for teachers. You also thought about the possible issues surrounding some features of Museum Box, such as the 8 boxes being too overwhelming for some of your students. I just love the idea of the Museum Box, including how students can collaborate and then present their boxes. What a great find!

  9. Madison L says:

    Hannah,
    I thought your blog on this topic was absolutely fantastic! Being a history education major i can absolutely see myself using this tool considering that one could add a significant amount of information by only using one cube because it has six sides. I would be able to go through lesson plans with ease plus this is a very visual tool and i believe that students actually learn better while they are engaged in a visual perspective of learning. Not only this , but this blog is actually very in-depth and i feel like i have learned so much about this tool and the fact that this could be used to present a project makes me believe that at some point maybe I will use this tool for one of my classes in the future.

  10. Kendall C says:

    This is really cool! I also like that you mentioned it can be a collaborative project tool because then we could potentially assign this to our students to do for a group project. It seems like it’s getting harder and harder to meet up with people and then people work at different paces, or just want to work at the same time, and it seems like Museum Box would allow that! It would also allow teachers to monitor when work is getting done and who is doing it, it seems. I also like that it’s really different, colorful, and allows for lots of creativity. I could definitely see this keeping the attention of my students, just like you mentioned, and also keep my own attention! Cool find! I had never heard of it before until this class with your blog post.

  11. Sarah C says:

    Hannah this was a great post with a lot of information. I think this tool is an awesome alternative to PowerPoint, which I know I’m definitely bored with at this point in my academic career. I think alternatives to PowerPoint that can engage the students more and allow them to be more interactive are great things that need to be incorporated into the classroom. I think this tool is especially good for group projects as students can each use a box to design on their own and then collaborate by putting them all together. Good job!

  12. Anna H. says:

    Hannah, this is a great tool to use for the classroom! I feel like classrooms are definitely starting to use technology in every possible area, and this is a great way to incorporate it into projects without going the traditional powerpoint or video route. I think that this is a fun alternative to creating a poster or diorama as well. It allows students to manipulate their material and presentation in a hands on manner while still taking advantage of the technological aspects. I feel like it also helps teach organization to your students, as they much compile material and organize it according to their drawer-like boxes. I also really like that there is an online community open so students can view the boxes of others! I feel like this could absolutely be utilized in the classroom, as teachers use boxes created by others to help teach lessons.

  13. Allie W. says:

    After working with Glogster and reading this post I’m not sure I’ll ever create a boring powerpoint again. While powerpoint may be great for giving information to older high school students who just need to get the information, its almost unfair to put that in front of children at a young age with less of an attention span. This tool is organized, fun, and will definitely keep kids more interested in the lesson. I had never heard about these sort of tools before and I’m super grateful to now know they exist! Thanks!

  14. Kaitlin L. says:

    This is such an interesting tool, and one that i have never heard of before. I really like how you can customize each part of the box for your specific project or presentation. I personally think this would be a great tool for introducing a literary unit on a new work: what would normally done with the traditional slide show or lecture about the author’s life and the setting of the work can be presented much more appealingly using Museum Box. I will definitely go and give it a whirl.

  15. Patrick C says:

    Hannah, this was a really good post. I had never heard of this site before. Like people who have posted before I like the way in which it can present information in a new unique way. This is a great tool for me to use in the classroom when I become a teacher. I explored it in class a little and it seems easy enough to use that I would feel comfortable with students using it. Overall this was a great post.

  16. Erin M. says:

    Hannah, I’m really glad I read this because I know for a fact that I will use in the future with my students. I think it is a really great and creative way for students to either collaborate on group projects or present their individual research. Personally, I think power points are overrated and overused, but teachers continue to use it because it is a simple way to relay all of the information you want to present. This is why Museum box is great, because like yousaid it offers a fun and creative alternative that offers the same benefits. Your instructions also are very clear and make the whole process of creating a Museum box very easy and manageable. Good choice of topic!

  17. Alex H. says:

    After we talked about this in class, I went back and looked at your post again, and I think you did a really good job of covering everything that I needed to know to use Museum Box. There were a couple things that I was unclear about after just going to the site and playing around with it. There were a lot of controls do sort through, but the screen shot you included in your blog helped me figure out where everything was and how it functioned. Thanks!

  18. Rebecca S. says:

    Hannah, I love how you started your post by mentioning how students can often get bored with PowerPoint presentations. They are used so much now, that they tend to be boring and don’t capture students’ attention as well. Museum Box is a great alternative to this! Something that I really like about this program is that it sort of reminds me of a diorama. Making a scene in a shoebox was one of my favorite projects in elementary school and, to me, Museum Box seems like the more modern, technological diorama. Because Museum Box offers a higher level of interactivity than programs like PowerPoint, I think students would enjoy MB presentations much more than PowerPoints. Also, students would probably like giving presentations with Museum Box more, as well as creating them. Thanks for this post!

  19. Riley K says:

    This is a great tool to get group collaboration and working together between students. Power points now a days are over-used and the majority of them are not done well. This a exciting new tool that will get students I believe more drawn in then creating a simple power point. Splitting up the boxes with different sides allows different things to be shown with many characteristics. I would feel comfortable using this with my students in the future because it is a fresh new direction away from boring old power points and plus from what you’ve said it actually looks like a cool interesting tool great job with this post!

  20. Hollyz says:

    Hannah, I loved this idea because I know how old Powerpoints can get with students! This tool seems like a great interactive way to get students involved. It also serves as a good tool to set up presentations on. I love that is offers a variety of ways to present the information, and is easy for students to use. Unlike just a generic Powerpoint students will have more fun with this tool and can look at Museum boxes that other students have created. It is very helpful that they can all have access to other boxes because it can expand their own knowledge. The graphics and video you used were very helpful at explaining the process. Great job!

Leave a Reply

